Feature Friday: Arty Vicky

Today I’m happy to announce that we’ve got a new friend joining us for Feature Friday (if you want to be featured you can comment below Vicky’s post). Vicky is passionate about many things creative, which is really an important lesson to us creative people: we have to be open to wherever creativity may find and inspire us!  Let’s hear what Vicky has to say about being creative and her creative passions.

Why are you passionate about being creative?:
As a child I remember making a little house for my Easter chick, inside the box my Easter egg came in. It even had curtains, a bed, shelves and little cardboard plates. I still see the potential in everyday materials, like empty containers, that I get really excited by modern craft supplies.

I love trying new activities or putting my own creative slant on an old activity, but once I feel I have mastered a craft to a level I am happy with, I flit on to the next one.

I’m always asking questions too. If someone tells me, you must use a particularly expensive tool or product, then I’ll become determined to find a cheaper, easier way. This is because I believe arts and crafts should be accessible to everyone’s abilities and budgets.

 

What have you learned from being creative and pursuing creative hobbies and passions?

When I was younger I suffered a bout of severe depression. Eventually I reached a stage where I forced myself to sew some soft toys. Slowly I realized that the more creative I became, the more my mental health improved. With time I discovered my greatest joy is to teach other people how to create with art or craft.

I’m not a trained teacher, but over the years I have voluntarily taught my daughter and her friends and other home school children, intellectually disabled people, elderly people, other artists and I’m now teaching art at a drop in centre for people with mental health distress.

As a teacher I have learned that creativity can not only lift a person’s mood, but it can also boost their self esteem. Creating on my own, for myself or as gifts, is relaxing and self affirming, but my greatest passion lies in lighting someone else’s creative fire, especially people who are unsure of their creative abilities.

What exciting future plans do you have for your work and creativity?

For the past year I have been teaching myself about the Internet, especially Facebook, YouTube, and WordPress, and I’ve taught myself how to record and edit videos. My dream is to share my skills and knowledge with people from all over the world.

I will be presenting all sorts of art and craft activities, many of them will be easy and inexpensive, but some will be more advanced. I will be putting up a couple more videos on drawing zentangles and then I have a series planned on using a cuttlebug.

I’ve made a start, I’m bursting with ideas for more activities and I’m open to requests. I want to share my ideas and skills freely with anyone who is interested in arts and crafts, but I would particularly love to inspire the people who teach people. I’d love to reach out to other people who facilitate activities for children and adults of all ages and abilities.

I believe the world is full of beautiful people and the Internet is like a huge well of positive energy that we can all draw from. I am excited to be part of a community which even stretches down here to New Zealand.

You can connect with Vicky at her blog, and on Facebook and YouTube.

Thank you Vicky!  Keep sharing creativity with the world!  I look forward to seeing what you create.

2 thoughts on “Feature Friday: Arty Vicky

  1. Hi Laura, Thank you for sharing this with your WordPress friends. I’m looking forward to more Feature Fridays so that I can read about other creative people.

Leave a Reply

