FF: LilGuy Stationary

Feature Friday is back after a short break with the winter holidays.  Today we’re talking with Kim of LilGuy Stationary!  She creates beautiful stationary and invites for weddings and more.

Why are you passionate about stationary and being creative, and what made you start a business?

My maternal grandfather was a self-taught artist so I guess I take after him on the creativity side, although regrettably I can’t draw! I started my business after making my own wedding invitations in 2008 when people were asking me where I’d got them as they thought they’d been made professionally. I started building up the business whilst I was still working as a credit controller for a holiday company and knew that I preferred the creative work to working with finance. When it became an option to leave the day job in 2010 I jumped at the chance, with encouragement from my husband, so that I could concentrate on my own business full time.

What is some of your inspiration and do you have any favorite stationary you’ve made?

My inspiration comes from a lot of different things, from architecture to mehndi patterns, sometimes I sit with a variety of ribbons, flowers and embellishments in front of me and find a combination that I find works. I’m also inspired by my dogs, you can read the story behind the LilGuy name here, as well as seeing examples of the bespoke stationery.  My current favorite is this Peacock Invitation, made with a 15cm Kings Blue square wallet decorated with a wide ivory ribbon, silver diamante flower embellishment and a real peacock eye feather.  I also love this crystal rose stationary box.

What are some of your future plans and hopes?

In the last year I have consistently had work published in national and regional wedding magazines in the UK, which I still get a thrill from each time I see one of my photos printed! I try to source different embellishments direct from the manufacturers to make my work stand apart from others as I think brides want something to make their wedding unique. We can cater for all budgets, from luxurious silk or velvet covered padded invitation boxes and folios to bespoke stationery to suit your style and theme, as well as having some budget price invitations which still give great quality.

You can connect with Kim and the Lil’ Guys on Facebook, Twitter, the website, and the blog.

Thanks Kim!  I love your work and can’t wait to see what new things you come up with! 

One thought on “FF: LilGuy Stationary

Leave a Reply

