FF: S.S. Soap Co

Happy Friday!  I’m thrilled to share another creative friend with you today!  Stephanie is passionate about soap!  She makes some fabulous handmade natural bath & beauty & cold process soaps, as well as a big heart.

Why are you passionate about soap and being creative?

I am a dental hygienist part time now. I love my job and being able to educate people on making healthy choice that not only effect their mouths but their whole bodies. I’m pretty interested in prevention and I try to stay on top of what I put into and onto my body. A little after I started working as a dental hygienist I started becoming more interested in what all the chemicals in my food and body products were. I wanted to be healthy and as organic as possible. Soon after my fiance and I purchased our first home I began organic gardening, both ornamentals and food. I also began purchasing natural skin care products, which turned out where not so “natural” after all. I was mortified! So I went on a mission. I did tons of research online and checked every book out of the library I could find. My gardening & soap actually started to blend a little, a lot of my herbs and flowers end up in my soaps and other products. Then my fiance’s mom was diagnosed with breast cancer and had to go through extensive radiation. Most soaps were way too harsh on her skin. She became my biggest fan and in the beginning of this year with the persuasion of friends and family I opened my etsy shop. I love knowing exactly what is in my food and bath and body products.

Do you have a favorite soap scent you’ve created?

I think my favorite scent is probably Vanilla Pomegranate or Oatmeal Cookie.

What exciting future plans do you have for your work?

Right now all of my products are made from my home, but I think maybe one day I would like to open a shop of my own. Even just being able to do this full time would be amazing. I get a great feeling knowing I created something I think someone else will truly enjoy.

Do you have any tips/inspiration to share?

As for tips.. If you love something I truly feel that is the universes way of telling you that you should be doing it. Just go for it and put your heart and soul into it. If you love what you do and put that love into your work it will pay off.

You can connect with Stephanie on Etsy, Facebook, Twitter and her blog.

Thank you, Stephanie! I love how you’ve taken a problem and turned it into a passion!  I look forward to seeing where your soaps take you! 

3 thoughts on “FF: S.S. Soap Co

Leave a Reply

