Creative Lessons of Summer

It seems like summer just arrived yesterday and now it’s practically gone.  I’m going to miss the sunny days and warm weather of summer, and since I’m not quite ready for September, fall and all the talk of back to school, let’s talk about what we’ve learned this summer.

-Do something creative every day.  If I don’t, I get frustrated, overwhelmed and start feeling uninspired in many areas of my life.

-Creativity is around every corner. Maybe there will be a humming bird, maybe a creatively grown flower, maybe a bench that has seen the passing of time, I’m always looking for that little gift.

-Following your dreams is essential, especially when it comes to being creative.

-Food is essential for creativity, events and summer fun.

-Every vacation spot has it’s own creative opportunities.

-Even if you’re focused on being creative, you’ve still got to be smart about how you run the business aspect of your creative gifts.

-Every good creative soul needs a day off here and there.

-The best thing about meeting new people is discovering what their creative and life passions are.

That’s just some of what I’ve learned this summer.  And I’m so thankful for each of these lessons.  What about you?  What have you learned this summer?  I’d love to learn from your lessons, share your comments below.

One thought on “Creative Lessons of Summer

  1. Great post, Laura! One of the lessons I’ve learned this summer is how refreshed and renewed I feel if I take 1-3 hours each week – usually early Sunday morning – and hang out by the lake at a nearby State Park. Sometimes I read, sometimes I write, sometimes I just ponder. Very refreshing.

Leave a Reply

