FF: Hockman Girl

Today’s guest is Kathleen.  Kathleen has created some beautiful jewelry and other items based on some of the inspiration she shares with us.

Why are you passionate about jewelry and other creations?

This is such a great question, as passion is so integral to what I do! If the passion isn’t there that day for me, I just can’t create anything. I’ve been an artist/creative person as far back as I can remember. As a little girl I was always off in my own little world either writing, drawing, crocheting, sculpting, or just creating a general mess that I thought of as art. Some that my mother and grandparents appreciated and others, not so much! Ha ha! Thankfully they were always supportive of my sensitive, feisty, creative nature, or who knows where I’d be right now. Creating for me is something that is as necessary as breathing. It’s where I find my peace and am my most authentic self. A little part of me is in everything I create. And oddly enough, each piece I create leads me to an as yet undiscovered piece of myself, a new awareness. That’s why I love, and have to do what I do!

What got you started with jewelry and being creative as a hobby/business?

Oh, long story that! Ha ha! I will try to sum it up as succinctly as possible for you. I had been told by family and
friends for years that my art is the direction I should go in as far as a career goes. Whether that be as a writer (by my Aunt Joanne & Grandmother), or a cartoonist/artist (by my Aunt Kim), etc., I just didn’t feel that was where “I” wanted to go. I ended up studying Equine Breeding & Reproduction/Equine Training in college, and was actually making a living at it for a couple of years before I was sidelined by a career ending accident. A concussion (that sent half of my college education into the nether-verse), and a thoracic and cervical sprain, as well as a bad case of whip-lash, took me roughly a year and a half of off and on bed-rest and rehabilitation to become relatively “normal” again, yet, unable to return to the job that I had so loved. So, definitely a time for reevaluation! And all that bed-rest left me with a lot of time on my hands, and a seriously bad case of boredom. This started me on the jewelry making path. I also continued all of my other creative endeavors as a simple means of not going crazy, while not being able to move. Friends started commenting on the jewelry and asking for some as presents for themselves and other folks, then strangers started coming up and commenting on it as well. This started me thinking (which most times is a very dangerous thing! Ha!) What if I started my own little business, selling all of the things that I love to create/make?! Could it work?! And so on… Clearly I decided I would and it could, because here we are! Ha ha!

Do you have a favorite piece you’ve created?

As most artists will tell you, this is an impossible question to answer. Like asking a parent, which is your favorite child? Ha ha! My answer would have to be, not necessarily one piece, but any piece I create that makes my Mother light up. There is something that the author Stephen King has said in regards to his books, and writing in general, (and I’m paraphrasing, so please forgive me) that most authors (artists) tend to (write) create, with one person in mind to read it (see it). For me, that person would be my Mother. I love it when she loves what I create! Of course, being my Mother, that is almost everything. Ha ha! She is rather prejudiced!

A couple of my favorite pieces are Gothic Punk, I just think it’s fresh and fun, and it was a hoot to create, and Ocean Dreams, I think it’s absolutely beautiful and it reminds me of the Ocean (obviously – Ha ha! ) which is one of my favorite places to be!

What exciting future plans do you have for your work?

Oh, I’m always planning! For the immediate future: I am working on expanding my line, getting some of my paintings up on the site, more housewares & knick-knacks I’m designing, new fashion items, etc., I’m always adding to my collection of creations! Since summer has started, I am looking to start selling at the local fairs, and maybe down the line at one of the local weekend markets. Busy, busy, busy! I love it!

Do you have any tips/inspiration to share?

Find what you absolutely love to do, that drives your passion, and fulfills you, and go after it with everything you’ve got! Never give up! Have faith in yourself! As long as you are being true to yourself, your passion, and your purpose you cannot fail!

And for some practical advice… Social media is amazing! It is great for marketing as well as getting to know the crafting/artist community. I have met some wonderful fellow artists who are all friendly, kind and extremely supportive and helpful. We all give each other a boost when things aren’t going that well, and cheer each other on when things are great! It’s truly a fabulous community to be a part of! I am so grateful for the friendships that I have made and the advice that I have received! So come on in folks, and join the party!

You can catch up with Kathleen on Twitter, Facebook, her website and her blog.

Thanks Kathleen!  I’m glad that you’ve returned to your artist roots and are creating such beautiful things!

2 thoughts on “FF: Hockman Girl

  1. Oh what a fabulous feature! I am thrilled to call Kathleen my friend – and I was very excited to learn more about her and her work. She is articulate, talented and so kind. Thank you for featuring her work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

