FF: Debra’s Cards and Jewelry

Happy July!  Today’s guest is Debra Westdorp.  She is passionate about creating jewelry and greeting cards.

Why are you passionate about jewelry and greeting cards?

I have a physical need to create. I love jewelry and cards. I also scrapbook. I love looking for new supplies. I look at new supplies as an adventure. I never know where or what it will lead me to.

What got you started with jewelry and being creative as a hobby/business?

I started in high school sewing class. Then I went on to creating jewelry for myself to go with my clothing designs. I took several sewing and clothing decorating classes. I also took classes in jewelry making and wire wrapping semi precious gemstones. I got into business by selling at local craft sales. Once I got my computer and got online my opportunities opened up. I started selling on Ebay.ca but then heard about Etsy.com (I have 3 shops on Etsy) then I opened my shop on iCraft.ca (I am one of their top 20 sellers) and then I opened my Cargoh.com shop as well.

Do you have a favorite piece you’ve created?

I have had several pieces that I haven’t been able to part with. Especially earrings and necklaces like my double strand necklace in red and brown.  I also like this greeting card for Father’s Day, Good Luck bracelet, and Seashell necklace.

What exciting future plans do you have for your work?

My plans are to continue creating and exploring new stones, supplies especially new designs in paper supplies.

Do you have any tips/inspiration to share?

My advise to a new designer would be to start a shop and fill it with your designs. Do what you love and share your designs and creations with the world.

You can connect with Debra on Twitter and Facebook, icraft and cargoh as well as through one of her Etsy stores: cards or jewelry.

Thanks Debra!  I love your beautiful jewelry and you’ve created some very lovely cards!  I look forward to seeing where your creativity takes you in the future!

One thought on “FF: Debra’s Cards and Jewelry

Leave a Reply

