FF: Sew Chic Boutique

Today’s guest on Feature Friday is Cicely James from sew chic boutique.  Cicely does some amazing things with needle, thread and fabric!

Tell us a little about yourself.

I am a mom of 2 third graders, a wife to my wonderful husband Ken for 15 years, and a full-time college student. Many of the bags I make are made from fabric I have designed and had digitally printed, which means it’s printed using an extremely wide computer printer made just for fabric. One thing that’s sort of funny is I sew barefoot because it makes the whole process so relaxing but, a little scary if I drop pins on the floor!

Why are you passionate about sewing and bags?

I am passionate about sewing because it is a from of creativity that allows you to transform a piece of fabric into any 3 dimensional item you can think of. For me it is a form of relaxation from the quiet cutting of the fabric to the hum of the machine while I am sewing a project. I love to sew clothing and things for the home as well as bags, but I love sewing bags because it is an expression of a woman’s fashion sense. I am also addicted to bags and change my bag according to my outfit and mood so sewing them allows me to have as many as I’d like.

What got you started with sewing and being creative as a hobby/business?

I originally took up sewing to be able to create curtains for the home since I was in the military and moved a lot. I figured it would save some money sewing window coverings myself. After a while I moved on to clothing and fashion accessories. I got into sewing as a business by accident when people saw my bags and suggested I should sell them. So with the encouragement of my husband I started sew chic boutique and I am still making bags.

Do you have a favorite bag you’ve created?

My favorite bag is my CiCe Bag in Brown. I have one for myself and carry it in any season of the year. It has a 1950’s vibe to it and is made with an very vintage print of oilcloth fabric.  I also really like the Jodi Hobo Bag

What exciting future plans do you have for your work?

My future plans for my work is to make more make it yourself/ DIY kits so people can create sew chic boutique style. I have many friends that say they can’t be creative and think many people feel that way. I hope that having these kits will help people try making handmade with help from a tutorial and the right materials. I am also planning to make my creations more bohemian, romantic, and feminine because I love to make pretty things.

Do you have any tips/inspiration to share?

My tip to share for those wanting to make a hobby into a business is to never give up on your dream and work at it everyday until you get where you want to go.

You can connect with Cicely on Twitter, Facebook, Etsy and her blog!

~Thanks for sharing Cicely!  I love the idea of DIY kits, it’s always been a passion of mine to bring art and creativity to everyone, even those who don’t think they can do it.  Keep creating those gorgeous bags!  I look forward to seeing what you come up with next.
2 thoughts on “FF: Sew Chic Boutique

Leave a Reply

