FF: BluKatDesign

Congratulations, you’ve made it to another Friday!  Today’s guest is Heather from BluKatDesign.  She creates unique jewelry, arts and crafts.  She has some fun thoughts to share with us today!

Why are you passionate about jewelry?

I am passionate about everything I do!

What got you started with jewelry and being creative as a business?

My high school teacher was Ron Ho, known for his fabulous found object jewelry. I was always the creative type but Ron helped me get out of my shell and create some cool art jewelry pieces. I even won an award in the Pacific Northwest Arts and Crafts Exhibition for a copper repousse neckpiece!  Jewelry was a fun and easy way for me to express my creativeness.  I have been working in the jewelry business now for over 28 years. I used to hand carve wax models but now I design wedding rings by computer for a Seattle Manufacturer. My niece, who has her own Etsy shop, suggested I sell my own jewelry on Etsy, so that’s what I do for fun!

Do you have a favorite piece you’ve created?

My favorite pieces are the collage or assemblage pieces with bunches of cool vintage parts I collect.  Its fun collecting vintage brooches and earrings and I love the challenge of remaking them into something that stylish and fun to wear today.  Some of my favorites are Vintage Yellow Flowers, Repurposed Rhinestones in Red & Purple, Upcycled Rhinestone Flowers, and Butterfly Flower Frog.

What exciting future plans do you have for your work?

I am thinking about selling other crafts like ornaments for gardens and planters and also dollhouse miniatures. I would love to paint more and maybe sell my paintings…

Do you have any tips/inspiration to share?

Just be persistent and keep doing what you love.

You can connect with Heather and check out all of her amazing designs on Twitter, Facebook, Etsy, her blog, and her website!

Thanks Heather!  I love your spirit and the jewelry you’ve created is a beautiful unification of old and new.  Can’t wait to see what else you have in store for the world!

3 thoughts on “FF: BluKatDesign

Leave a Reply

