FF: Kreative Notions

Today we’re talking with Syda from Kreative Notions.  Syda’s journey is filled with different creative inspirations and I’m excited to share her with you today.

Why are you passionate about being creative?

Being creative allows me to connect, share and inspire others.  I didn’t discover my creativity until my late thirties and since that time it has gifted me connection, purpose, healing and immense joy.  Very often my life has been transformed, lifted out of the darkness and made brighter through creative play.  I want to inspire others to use creative play to enhance their joy, their connections and their lives.  Not to mention the pleasure and gratitude of knowing that someone is writing in a journal that I designed or wearing a T-shirt with a graphic I created.

What got you started with art, cards and being creative?

I began writing poems as a teenager, however I never considered myself to be “creative.”  Later, my husband would give me a camera for my birthday while we were dating (and several upgrades since).  I discovered macro photography and became obsessed with taking extremely close-up photogs of our freshly planted flowers.  Today my photography hobby continues to expand and grow.  I love that it allows me to become childlike; taking photos of odd things and transforming them into meaningful works.  In 2000, with photogs piling up, I took a stab at scrap-booking.  Still, I didn’t see myself as creative.

My true creative passion began to take shape when I received a hand stamped Christmas card.  I wondered if it was something I could do.  I sent out my first handmade holiday card in 2002 and the rest, as they say, is history.  I’ve been making greeting cards and small gifts for family and friends ever since and have often been told I should start a business and sell them.  So, here we are.  🙂

I chose the name Kreative Notions for my website and business because I enjoy a variety of creative play:  writing, photography, paper crafts, art journaling, collage and more.  I love playing with paint, gesso, Mod Podge, rubber stamps and UTEE to name a few.  I love finding new ways to inspire and play.

Do you have a favorite piece you’ve designed?

Today my favorite would be a special order journal cover I recently created with a turquoise background and white gerbera daisy.  A little white lace ribbon was all the embellishment it needed.

What exciting future plans do you have for your work?

My business is still in its infant stage.  I’m only getting started.  I like the idea of hosting a workshop, e-course, or creative challenge.  I like the idea of participating in a craft fair, or discovering a local boutique to host some of my creative energies.  First things first.  I just purchased The Right Brain Business Plan by Jennifer Lee and I am looking forward to setting down a creative business plan.

I do have plans to develop a newsletter over the next month.  There’s a subscription form on my website and there will be a drawing contest when I reach my first subscriber goal.  (hint-hint)

Throughout the next year, in addition to expanding the collections I offer in my Etsy Shop and CafePress Shop, I’d like to create a day planner and perhaps a guided journal.

What tips and inspiration can you share?

The Kreative Notions motto is:  “Mistaeks are Mandatory….make lots of ’em.”

Release your attachment to the outcome.  Don’t think about it.  Let go of what it “should” look like.  Some of the best things come from mindless play.

You can learn more about Syda, including join her newsletter, at her website, Facebook, and Twitter, as well as visit her Etsy and CafePress shops and see what she’s created lately.

~

Thank you so much Syda! I look forward to seeing where your creative journey takes you!

What inspiration can you share with someone today? You may never know the impact of your thoughts, but it’s always worth it!

7 thoughts on “FF: Kreative Notions

  1. Oh Syda…You’re so wonderful. Let me tell you…I have a room full of stamps, paper, ribbons, inks, punches..perhaps you could do a simple card project and help those of us who have little idea what to do with all of this stuff. I’m so very very very happy that you are creating this path for yourself and your family. Bravo!!

    • Oh GK – hee hee – that is a wonderful idea and it is something I am tossing about m’ head. If you subscribe to m’ developing newsletter you just might find an idea or two in there. LOL. Thanks for all the love and support!

    • Sarah – Thanks! I’m so glad you took the time to check out the website. I appreciate you subscribing to my developing newsletter too! Mistaeks are mandatory…make lots of ’em! 🙂

Leave a Reply

