FF: Michelle Lisa Mosaics

Today our guest on Feature Friday is Michelle Lisa!  She works with stained glass and mosaics.  Let’s get to know her a bit.

Why are you passionate about mosaics and stained glass?

“I love color, and anything that sparkles. My mosaics are comprised of various stained glass, beads, and objet d’trouve. I love how mosaics make the most simple design exciting with texture, color and light reflecting  from the glass. There are many forms of mosaics and it is an art that has a great history….My mosaics make me feel accomplished.”

What is your favorite piece you have designed?

“Every time I create a new piece it is my favorite. Each piece has it’s own uniqueness. My kids tell me each time I finish a piece or project “this one is my favorite”. Recently I finished my floor in my powder room. I used slate stones which we collected this past summer from the beach. This beach is “my beach”. I grew up and spent the first 20 years living on the beach of Lake Huron in Ontario Canada. I call my floor “A piece of my child hood” (there is a picture on my Facebook page)”

What got you started with mosaics and being creative as a hobby/business?

“In the year 2000 we moved to Florida from Ontario, Canada. I was not able to work, because I did not have a work permit so I started by making mosaic planting pots….which I still have and they are found on my website. I evolved after making quite a few for myself and friends. Everyone kept saying you could sell your stuff it is so beautiful. We built a new house and I did a mosaic around the the master bathroom window, dining room floor, and my daughter’s floor in her room. Even though everyone said you could sell your stuff, I always had reservations, until about 3 years ago. Last year I put my lamps, my latest creation, on Etsy, and entered a few art shows…..Yes I can sell my stuff. I do have a full time job now but I really would love to focus on my Mosaics.”

What exciting future plans do you have for Michelle Lisa Mosaics?

“I dream of being recognized by the Mosaic Art Community, learning new techniques and styles. I hope to be looked at by other Mosaic artists has having techniques they would like to learn. Everyday I work on sharing my art with someone new. I love people’s expressions, they always smile!”

If you would like to learn more about Michelle and her beautiful stained glass mosaics, you can visit her website, follow her on Twitter, fan her on Facebook and find her on Etsy.  She’s got lots of great examples of her artwork for you to see and be inspired by.

*Feature Friday is my way of sharing even more great art and creativity with you.  If you know an artist or creative individual who would like to be featured for free, contact me on Twitter or let me know below!*

2 thoughts on “FF: Michelle Lisa Mosaics

Leave a Reply

